Is this thing on?

So I maybe a bit of a slacker. I am still here, but life has been a lot more busy now that I have lost a small person.  So quickly, updates.  I am now down about 105 lbs, have gone from a size 22/24 dress size to a size 10 as of today, and for the first time in my adult life my BMI is not in the obese or morbidly obese categories, I am just overweight like the rest of the US.  So here’s an updated before and after for you…

Before at about 270 lbs.

Before

After at 160 lbs.

After

So the reason for my post is because I was encouraged to post a tip that I have stuck to through out this journey.  I call it my 10 lbs. rule.  It’s pretty simple, as I have tried not to beat myself up too much if my weight fluctuates.  Going up and down in weight is normal, for a variety of different reasons, so it does no one any good at all to get made because on Friday you weighed one thing and on Tuesday you weigh 8 oz. more.  First, why are you weighing yourself every two seconds?  Stop that!  I have stuck to a rule, as suggested by my doctor, of not weighing myself more than once per week.  More than that really just isn’t beneficial.  Anyhow, back to the 10 lbs. rule…the trick is allow yourself the room to fluctuate, but if you notice that your weight goes up my more than 10 lbs, you need to reevaluate your routine and habits.  My rule of thumb for this has been, once I drop below another 10 lbs. mark, I cannot go back above that.  For instance, once I hit the 190s in my weight, I couldn’t go back up above 200.  Now that I have hit the 160s, I can’t go back above 170.  It’s a pretty nice rule of thumb to stick too and it keeps me from completely freaking out over a little fluctuation in weight.  If I notice a jump back up, then I need to go back to making sure I really keep track of my diet and exercise to see where I might be pulling in too many calories or something.

I will try to do a better job of keeping up with my blog, I get scolded enough by a few friends when it’s been a while since I last posted, so I am sure someone will hold me true to staying up with it.

About ellejefe

VA born, MKE bred, mom,wife, MU grad, suit by day, crooner by night...I might have multiple personalities, or maybe just ADD....oooh look there's a squirrel

Posted on February 14, 2013, in Weight Loss Surgery. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This is definitely a good rule of thumb! And yes, I will expect more blog action!

Leave a comment